MINUTES MIAMI COUNTY PARK DISTRICT BOARD OF PARK COMMISSION

Tuesday, January 23, 2018 – 9 a.m. Lost Creek Reserve Administration Office

Present Mr. Doug Haines, Dr. Robert Malarkey, Mrs. Elizabeth Gutmann, Scott Myers, Dale Gade, Kevin Swanson, Cinda Hanbuch Pinkerton, Chris Thompson Jessie Chernetski, Janeen Selanders and Amanda Smith.

Mr. Haines opened the meeting at 9 a.m. with Janeen Selanders recording the minutes.

MINUTES – Dr. Malarkey made a motion to accept the minutes of the December 19, 2017 board meeting, seconded by Mrs. Gutmann, motion unanimously carried. Dr. Malarkey made a motion to accept the minutes of January 10, 2018 special board meeting, seconded by Mrs. Gutmann, motion unanimously carried.

BILLS AND RECEIPTS - Dr. Malarkey made a motion to approve the bills and receipts as presented, seconded by Mrs. Gutmann, motion unanimously carried.

GIFTS AND DONATIONS – Mrs. Gutmann made a motion to approve the donations, seconded by Dr. Malarkey, motion unanimously carried.

NEW BUSINESS

- A. RESOLTUTION 1198-18 Approval of transfers 12/13/17 through 1/16/18 Dr. Malarkey made a motion to approve resolution 1198-18, seconded by Mrs. Gutmann, motion carried unanimously.
- **B. RESOLUTION 1199-18** Authorization to enter into a contract with the Banana Slug String Band to perform at the 2018 "Hug the Earth" Festival Dr. Malarkey made a motion to approve resolution 1199-18, seconded by Mrs. Gutmann, motion carried unanimously.
- C. **RESOLUTION 1200-18** Authorization to purchase one (1) new Exmark mower with a 72" cut, and one (1) new Exmark mower with a 60" cut, and to trade in a 2009 and a 2010 mower Mrs. Gutmann made a motion to approve resolution 1200-18, seconded by Dr. Malarkey motion carried unanimously.
- D. RESOLUTION 1201-18 Authorization to enter into an Agreement with the Banana Slug String Band to use funds received from the Lundgard Foundation grant to complete a Pollinator Project C.D. recording -Dr. Malarkey made a motion to approve resolution 1201-18, seconded by Mrs. Gutmann, motion carried unanimously.
- E. **RESOLUTION 1202-18 -** *Authorization for the Executive Director of the Miami County Park District* to apply for a Clean Ohio Trails Fund grant, and to enter into any and all contracts and/or agreements necessary to accept the grant and to construct a recreational trail from the village of Fletcher to Garbry Big *Woods Reserve -* **Dr. Malarkey made a motion to approve resolution 1202-18, seconded by Mrs. Gutmann, motion carried unanimously.**

 F. RESOLUTION 1203-18 - Authorization to enter an agreement with Ross Construction and Properties LLC to perform kitchen, utility room and downstairs restroom repairs/renovation on the office at Charleston Falls Preserve - Dr. Malarkey made a motion to approve resolution 1203-18, seconded by Mrs. Gutmann, motion carried unanimously.

OLD BUSINESS

A. FOUNDATION – Scott distributed the financial report from The Troy Foundation.

OTHER BUSINESS

- A. Staff Reports
 - **A. Deputy Director** Kevin said he just received the preliminary drawing of the proposed restroom facility for Lost Creek Reserve but hasn't had a chance to look at it yet.
 - B. Operations Dale said the Operations staff has moved to the tenant house at Lost Creek Reserve.

Staff member, Austin Brown likely saved a life at Garbry Big Woods Reserve. We plan to nominate him for a lifesaving award.

An intern recently flipped a gator but is ok. Safety training refresher courses will be held.

- C. Marketing Amanda had no addition to her written report.
- **D.** Education Cinda said the programs are in full swing in the schools. She will be presenting at the OPRA conference.
- E. Executive Director Scott had no additions to his written report.

Dr. Malarkey moved to enter into executive session at 9:54 a.m. to discuss real estate and personnel, seconded by Mrs. Gutmann. The Board of Park Commission entered executive session.

The board returned from executive session at 10:08 a.m. and Dr. Malarkey moved to adjourn the meeting at 10:08 a.m., seconded by Mrs. Gutmann, motion carried unanimously.

J. Scott Myers

R. Douglas Haines